Phone Gremlins

I know I’m not the only parent whose children absolutely meltdown when a phone call happens right? Like complete and utter chaos from the time you hit send, to the actual phone call in which you have to juggle maddeningly misbehaving children with actually holding a conversation, to the end when you rush to say goodbye and get off the phone only to see your kids return to doing whatever it was they were occupied with in the first place that made you think you could actually make the phone call?!?

Phone gremlins. It’s got to be.  I’m telling you something shoots out that possesses your kid

Earlier today, the boys were happily watching Sesame Street and I foolishly thought that would be a good time to call around to salons for prices. Ha! Rookie mistake. As soon as I connected with a receptionist, Adam started following me around flapping his arms and making demands for PB&J. I shushed him pretty quickly and had him scoot back into the living room to wait for his sandwich. (In his defense I did promise him a PB&J. He was nice to calm himself so quickly.)

I thought I was out of the woods but really Adam was the warm-up act for Owen. He pulled a dining room chair out, leaned over the back, causing it to tip over, and caught his fingers between the chair and the piano. So the lovely woman on the phone got to listen to absolute chaos as I rushed over to free the screaming baby from his predicament and try to calm the scared/hurt crying while still trying to get information.

I just checked my phone log  the whole call took less than three minutes. The boys went from being awesome, to gremlins, back to calm and collected.

Luckily the woman understood. She said the whole scenario sounded only too familiar from when her kids were young. So if you have to make a phone call anytime soon, solidarity friend.

Leave a Reply

