Taking It Easy In The Land Of Toddlers

At this point in my last pregnancy, I was about 3 days away from finishing work for good. My replacement was already trained and more than confident, so I was daydreaming about giving birth and taking half days. The last week of pregnancy I sat on my rear end at home with my feet up and chilled out.

Not so much this time.

Because, hi, have you met this face?

IMG_1015

I have a toddler now. A running, jumping, active kid who doesn’t want to sit around while mom eats a whole chocolate bunny and takes a nap before her pedicure.

And he’s not even a bad kid, he’s just a toddler. He needs to get out of the house, he needs mom to get on the floor and play with him, and he needs to eat at least three times a day. I know. Toddlers are SO needy.

So yesterday, a glorious day that got into the 70s, I took Adam to the park with a friend of mine and her kids. I even went past his nap by a few hours just so the poor thing could get some exercise and vitamin D. On the way home he passed out cold and got some great sleep while mom put her feet up and ate a box of chicken. So it was a win, win really.

Later that night, though, it became apparent that I angered The Uterus. There had been far too much activity for a woman who is only eleven days from her due date. Braxton-Hicks contractions started at about dinner time and refused to go away even with water, putting my feet up, and a warm bath. They kept going enough that I texted my doula to put her on notice, juuuussst in case.

Obviously, Tater is still hanging out in the belly, but The Uterus still isn’t too happy. So far I’ve had far less contractions today. Any sudden movement though, or if I go even a few minutes without drinking water I can feel it contract.

So now I’m trying to strike a balance between not wearing myself out too much and keeping the kiddo(s) happy. Luckily the weather cooperated today with buckets of rain, so we made blanket forts and played with blocks in between serious amounts of cuddles.

From now on I’ll have to make sure to do next to nothing when he takes a nap and make sure I got to bed before midnight so I get plenty of sleep. That combined with even more water, and maybe The Uterus will be nicer to me from now on. You know, until labor. And then that thing is going to be a JERK.

Leave a Reply

