Bull!

Last night Adam, Mike, and I were watching Shaun the Sheep before Adam went to bed. Shaun the Sheep is a claymation cartoon made by the same people who did Wallace and Gromit. It’s a sweet little British cartoon that we didn’t think twice about letting Adam watch. The farm that Shaun lives on has a bunch of different animals, and last night a very irritable bull was showcased. In a beautiful display of just how much Adam takes in and understands, that bull scared the crap out of him.

“Bulll??? Scared!!!” he called out, while crying and shaking from head to toe. Poor thing was so freaked out we turned it to another episode that we promised did not have the mean, scary bull anymore. He calmed down and watched another episode without incident, and then we went upstairs and he went to sleep in a toddler bed for the first time.

It was a big toddler milestone kind of a night. I won’t even mention that there are three word sentences that routinely come out of his face. I just can’t…

He slept through the night without falling off of the bed, even though there was a close call where he sat up in his sleep and started scooting toward the opening on the bed. Mike snuck up and put a pillow on the floor, just in case, but it wasn’t needed.

That doesn’t mean we didn’t watch him like a hawk though.

IMG_1063

He made a few noises at 6:30 this morning and I’ve been wide awake ever since. Those feet look awfully close to the edge of that bed. Awfully close.

Shockingly, I got an extra hour and a half of sleep out of him. I paced downstairs trying to busy myself and stay quiet, all the while checking the monitor every time I heard a noise. As soon as I saw him moving I made a beeline upstairs to make sure he was ok waking up in the bed and I got this face.

IMG_1065

Yeah. I think he’s fine. My big boy is amazing.

As for the soon to be Williamson, he’s still in there, cooking and moving and using my pelvis as a pillow.

IMG_1034

We took another picture of my belly last night:

IMG_1081

Soooo much belly. It’s such a huge reminder that birth is imminent, so I’ve kept myself on a schedule that’ll let me leave without much notice. Keep the laundry managed, don’t let the dishes pile up, stay showered, get enough sleep (ha!), make sure Adam has plenty of food, etc. I’m in a constant state of readiness, and I can’t wait for all of this to start.

In the meantime, it’s going to be in the 70s today and I’m going to frolic in the park with Adam like it’s the first time I’ve seen the sun in months.

Leave a Reply

