I Think The Wait Might Kill Me

I have been very impatient with this pregnancy. I want March to get here and I want my baby. Like now. It hasn’t helped that I took a pregnancy test the very first day the instructions say you can. So we’ve known about this guy since July 7th. July to March is way too long to wait for a kid. (I know let him cook, don’t rush him. I know.)

So far I’ve had events in the near future to look forward to. The point where I could tell people, the gender ultrasound, a trip to California, Thanksgiving, Christmas, my nephew’s visit, my good friend having her baby, my baby shower. They were all little checks that I could tick off my list, and it meant I was that much closer to baby time. I have officially run out of those little events. My due date is next on my list, but it’s still two months away and I just don’t know if I can take it anymore.

Don’t get me wrong, I really do enjoy being pregnant. Once I got past my nightmare aversion to all foods in the first trimester and the unfortunate trip to the emergency room, I’ve been flying high. I feel better than I did with Adam and I’m not swollen like a balloon by the end of every day. Seven months along and I can still wear my wedding ring! My midwife measured me last Friday at my appointment and said I’m measuring exactly where I should be. A few aches and pains, but nothing crazy has been ailing me.

I still get a kick out of every time the baby moves, and trust me, the kid can MOVE (like right now. There. And again. Oh there he is. He says hi readers.)

The thing is, having Adam outside of me has been better than being pregnant ever was, and I want that again. I want to cuddle up and smell Tater’s head. I want to see Adam get to know his baby brother, and I want Mike to get to know his son. I’m pretty sure he’s going to be a spitfire based on his gymnastics inside of me, so it should be a fun ride.

So I find myself being so impatient I can barely function. Mike kindly reminded me that we still have some things to get done before the baby comes. His dresser needs to be painted, and once that happens I can finally bring out the newborn clothes (YAY). There are little things that need to get done like put his bed together and install the car seat, but they’re mere trifles compared to “Go to hospital. Have Baby”.

I think these guys might be the only thing that gets me through this wait:

IMG_0625

Because they’re awesome. Which makes me so happy that I have this family. And that we’re adding to it. Which makes me think about the new baby, and that we still have two whole months to get through, which makes me impatient. See?!?! Do you see why I’m never going to make it? This wait is going to drive me crazy!! I’m going to go fold tiny cloth diapers and try to extract my son from my ribs now…

One thought on “I Think The Wait Might Kill Me

Leave a Reply

