Boys Only!

Last night Mike and I decided to clean out Adam’s closet in his new room. Until now it’s been a haven for our extra winter coats and linens. We figured if we were giving him the room he might as well have the closet too.

After we had it all cleared out, Adam wanted to see the inside. Mike crawled in with him and shut the door, declaring it their clubhouse. Even though he mostly just stood there, you could tell he was having a great time. I stood outside and knocked, and he would open the door and say hi to me.

After a few minutes Mike invited me in too, so I scooted in next to them. Adam looked up at me, then pushed the door open and invited me to come over to another point in the room.

“Oh you want to go play over here Adam?”, I naively asked my 20 month old boy.

As I looked back to get the answer to my question, I saw Adam closing the door and going back into the closet with Mike.

Yes, I was dismissed from the closet by my baby. Left out in the cold so he could have a boys only party with his Daddy. Mike and I couldn’t believe what had just happened! I was straight up kicked out of the club!

If it wasn’t already apparent to me before then, it was crystal clear to me: Adam is a daddy’s boy through and through. He loves that guy more than anything on this planet.

Don’t get me wrong, there is space in his universe for Mom, but I’m pretty sure a halo glows around Mike’s head when he walks in the room. The best part of my day is watching both of their eyes light up when Mike gets home. Adam sprints from whatever corner of the house screaming “Daddy! Daddy!” He throws his arms around Dad’s neck and hugs him so tight that Mike has had to figure out a way to ditch anything in his hands before Adam gets to him. It’s a beautiful thing.

I’m well aware that I’m gestating yet another boy, and I might not be the favored parent. I might just have another kid who follows his dad around with his toy tools and lays down next to him to check out wires, or the Christmas trees water level, or just to emulate the way he sees Dad lounging on the floor while they’re playing. And I don’t mind in the least.

Seeing this kind of love grow between my husband and my son is something I never expected, and it’s thrown me for a loop in the best possible way. Look how beautiful they are together. I can’t believe they’re mine.

IMG_0374

Leave a Reply

