A Thanksgiving Miracle!

It was a good day yesterday. Rainy and cold, but really good. My in-laws came over, we cooked Thanksgiving lunch (not dinner because my husband is weird), and I ate until Tater ran out of room in there and started kicking my ribs in protest. Adam had a great time. He tasted sparkling apple cider for the first time, played in the rain while Dad and Grandpa cooked the turkey, and then didn’t touch an ounce of his dinner. Granted, we gave him a bunch of vegetables and crackers beforehand so that’s probably why.

The kid even took two naps, which is weird in itself, but it isn’t the miracle I speak of. No, we put Adam to sleep without his pacifier. WITHOUT his pacifier. And it’s been happening for three days now! A couple of nights ago Mike put Adam to bed. When he came down he told me something unusual had happened so he went with it. Adam didn’t ask for his pacifier, so Mike didn’t give it to him.

I had no idea how to react to this because I had been expecting the fight of our lives. Adam loves that thing. Sometimes I hear him stir in the middle of the night and suck on it so loud that it turns on the video monitor. Surely something that gives him that much comfort would be fought for?

But no. He went to sleep without a fuss and he’s been just fine for the most part. There have been a couple of nap time fits, but that’s not because he’s asking for the binkie and we won’t give it to him. It’s because he doesn’t want to go to sleep. My Peanut sure is learning how to try and stall. He wants a book, or “num nums” (food), or anything he can point at really. The fact that Mike and I have flat out refused to give into these stalls has left Adam a bit, um, upset. Okay it’s left him screaming at the top of his lungs in the cutest fit ever.

This is the first bump in the road that I think I haven’t really wrung my hands over. He’s not in pain or scared or anything like that. It’s a good old fashioned fit, and that is something that I not only don’t worry about, I think it’s kind of cute. So he can scream in there for a few minutes and then pass the heck out like he always does until he gets the idea. I’m just going to thank my lucky stars that I don’t have to add “Mom and Dad took away my binkie” as a reason he’s mad at us.

And as for my second son, he’s getting huge. He’s a bit neglected lately in the doting over him department. I realized I haven’t taken an official “pregnancy picture” in quite a while. I did take this one though:

IMG_0406

The green ribbon was part of a baby shower game while I was pregnant with Adam. That’s how big I was at 26 weeks when I went home to California. It fit me perfectly yesterday, at 24 weeks. So baby is bigger now than I was at 26 weeks last time. I’d like to take this opportunity to ask my little Tater to be healthy but please don’t come out of me at 10 pounds or something. Cut mama a little slack huh? To make up for neglecting you, I’ll give you a binkie that’s all your own!

Leave a Reply

