That’s My Boy

It’s already been mentioned once or twice that Adam looks a tad like me. The eyes, the light hair and little button nose do resemble photos I have from when I was a toddler.

IMG_0033

IMG_1814

I don’t know. You be the judge.

Other than the family resemblance though, there are a couple of things he does that I feel resemble me in all my dorkitude.

First, the unnatural pull to the TV. He loves it, will sit still in front of it for a long time, give me one of those looks when his show is over that says, “I’m not ready for it to be over make it happen again!”

And I know (I know!) TV for babies is the devil and it’ll rot his brain and blah, blah I get it. Which brings me to similarity number two: he loves to read. Better than TV right? I’ll find him siting on a pile of books in the corner going from page to page and looking at the pictures. I think it’s only a matter of time before I lose track of him for an hour or so and find him in his room reading a chapter book that he can’t put down. Yes, my mom frequently wondered where the heck I was and found me doing exactly that.

This afternoon I asked him if he wanted to read a book and his little face lit up immediately. He ran over to the couch to get settled while I picked out a book, then sat on my lap and made animal noises and turned pages for me while I read about bunnies and ducklings and elephants. After I was done, he signed “again” and I started over at the beginning of the book. He didn’t care about the narration so much this time. Just the pictures and the turning of the pages. Seriously, he MUST turn the pages!

After reading time I fed him lunch and, after downing an entire PB&J, he was ready to play! Until now his personality hasn’t really resembled Mike or me. he likes to vroom vroom his cars, run from Mom and Dad while we chase him, and as he’s gotten older has been just the sweetest kid. Today while we were playing a little quirky, goofy boy came out and it was like looking into a tiny mirror. He was being so silly! He made funny faces at me, and when I laughed he lapped it up and kept going. He jumped up onto the couch with me and thought it was hysterical to collapse backwards and put his feet in my face. We giggled and cuddled and made faces at each other for a good 30 minutes. It was so fun to see his personality come out a little more.

Now don’t get me wrong, this could totally be a Mike thing too! I guess I haven’t asked his parents enough questions about his personality as a kid. But it’s me too. Oh man we’re in for some fun if Mike was as weird as I was as a kid. It’s all good though. My boy can let his freak flag fly if that’s how he’s made. Also, a big shout out to The Big Bang Theory and all other geeky pop-culture for making this totes okay! I wonder if we can surprise him one day with a trip to Comic Con or something!

*A little note to end this because it has nothing to do with our similarities. Adam has found the food love of his life: string cheese. It is his favorite thing in the world. The love is so deep that he recognizes and freaks out over the sound of the wrapper coming off! I also have to monitor him closely because he’s been known to put half the stick in his mouth and pretend that it’s all gone so he can get more! The other day he chose cheese over a Ding Dong. Chocolate! So not like his mom.*

Leave a Reply

