Big Plans (Also, I Swear I’m Not A Slacker!)

I had big plans today. BIG! Play date this afternoon, marinated tacos for dinner, and a walk with Adam in our rainbow wrap. None of those things happened. Not one.

Not to say that it hasn’t been a really good productive day! Adam woke up this morning at 9, which was amazing because I’ve had the worst insomnia this week. I go to bed and just lay there while Mike snoozes happily beside me. I almost want to shove him a bit to wake him up and then act like oh hi you’re awake too let’s chat! But I’m a good wife. It would be fun though.

Also, amazing? Adam was an ANGEL today! An absolute marvel of good behavior and playing. He also didn’t show signs for a nap until 3 1/2 hours after he woke up. This is how the play date we were supposed to go to didn’t happen. It was at 1 and Adam went down for a nap at 12:30. I feel bad about it, but Adam not getting a nap makes for a tiny tornado of tantrums and anger. So the nap won. I think this is him going from two naps a day to one nap a day though, so it opens up play date possibilities a lot. I don’t have to plan in the wee three hour window between morning and afternoon naps. Yay! Freedom!!

Adam’s nap ended up being two and a half hours long, and I’m not going to lie, after I ate lunch I fell asleep too. Over an hour of glorious nap time. We woke up at three so I fed him a snack with plans to go to the store to get a couple of things for dinner tonight (Taco Tuesday!). That’s when two behemoth thunderstorms rolled into town.

These things were huge, dark gray, and brought with them torrential rain and wind that nearly knocked me over when I went to rescue the mail from being a soaked mess. Getting a baby out of his carseat and into a store conditions like that is not my idea of a good time, so I raided the pantry. And wouldn’t you know it? I had the ingredients to make a homemade marinara sauce and chicken parmesan. The sauce is on the stove right now and let me tell you, if it tastes half as good as it smells, I will be in red sauce heaven tonight.

Since I haven’t written in so long, I’ll end with a few pictures of my growing boy who can’t really be called a baby anymore.

IMG_0891

IMG_1748

IMG_1733

IMG_1764

Leave a Reply

