Camping Roundup

As mentioned previously, the family packed up and went camping last weekend, sans baba. Other than the constant fear that Adam was going to revolt because we took away his bedtime meal, we had a great time! Hanging Rock State Park is only an hour and a half away from where we live, but it feels like a world apart. 

Image

 

We drove up in the morning to meet Mike’s parents, who had planned a zip line excursion for that afternoon. We would have gone, but I guess strapping your baby to your back and careening through the treetops is frowned upon by insurance companies. So, we had the afternoon free to explore a bit. 

There are a couple of really short, easy (HA!) trails that go down to some waterfalls so we decided to go down there and get some pretty pictures. I scoff at the word easy because you descend about half a mile straight down to see them, then have to climb the staircase from hell to get back to where you started. The waterfalls were very pretty though, and totally worth it. 

ImageImageImage

The rest of the day was spent at the campsite, where Adam had the time of his life playing outside and eating copious amounts of dirt. No really, the evidence was clear the next day that he was actually eating it. 

ImageImage

It’s all good though. Little kids eat dirt. I’m cool with that. 

The next day we were leaving and Mike still had homework to do when we got home, so we didn’t wait for Adam to take his morning nap before we headed out on the hike to Hanging Rock. I was so determined to get that kid to sleep in the carrier, which hasn’t happened since last year and has never happened on my back, so I gave him milk before we left and even brought out binky. The whole hike I was like, sleep kid! Sleep! Then we got to the top and he was not sleeping. Not even a little bit.

ImageImageImage

Image

 

Image

*Note: I know Adam looks quite cranky in every single photo where he’s being worn, but I promise he’s not! He gets very Zen and peaceful when he gets wrapped. So Zen, that smiling just isn’t an option. But he’s happy, really! 

On the way down the mountain an amazing thing happened. He laid his head down on my back! Not only that, but he did the soft moan that he does when he’s putting himself to sleep. Everyone noticed that he was starting to go to sleep and all of a sudden everyone just stopped talking. A few minutes later, this happened: 

Image

We have a sleeping baby everyone! The baby has gone to sleep! Wooo hoooooo!!

The trail was pretty rough in some places and his head wasn’t very secure like that, so I broke out the hood on my carrier for the first time ever!

Image

 

It looks crazy, but I promise he was comfortable under there and slept for 45 minutes on my back. Victory! 

The whole weekend was a lot of fun. Adam hasn’t spent the night many places other than home so I thought it was a good chance for him to have his schedule shaken up a bit, and Mike and I got a whole weekend with two more people to chase him around. I call that a win! I can’t wait to get out and explore some more this summer. I’m sure Adam is looking forward to sampling the many kinds of dirt NC has to offer. 

One thought on “Camping Roundup

Leave a Reply

