Bye Bye Baba

This weekend Mike, Adam, and I packed up the car and headed to a Hanging Rock State Park to camp with Mike’s parents. The full roundup of our adventures will be coming soon, but I just had to do a post about our unexpected dumping of Adam’s bottle. 

While packing for our trip on Friday I was on a roll. We were staying for one night so I was determined not to overpack. I had our diaper bag for Adam’s clothes and a reusable grocery bag with his food, diapers, and toys. That’s IT. I was so proud of myself. The list of things we brought on our first overnight trip was immense. And he was breastfeeding! So needless to say I pared stuff down, knowing he was going to be so busy eating dirt that he wouldn’t need any toys unless it rained ( I was right, he ate a lot of dirt). 

What does all of this have to do with moving away from Adam’s bottle? Well, I remembered to pack everything except the bottle. Milk, water bottle, straw cup, pacifier, breakfast, lunch, dinner, I got all of that! But the warm bottle of milk that lulls my baby to sleep? Nope. Gone. None of that. 

Since we were in the woods when I realized my mistake and that there was no going back, we both kind of shrugged and took an attitude like, it was going to have to happen sooner or later. We had the pop-top water battle and a straw cup so he could still drink milk, just not at bedtime like he usually has it.

Our first test came a couple of hours after we got there. Adam had only slept an hour that morning so I knew an afternoon nap was essential. And after about 20 minutes he went to sleep! Of course that just pulled me into a false sense of security because when he goes to bed for the night he drinks a lot of milk. Like 10 ounces. So when I offered him some crap water bottle full of his milk he was PISSED. I started putting him to bed at about 8:30. I don’t know how long it took because I was trying to dodge flailing legs and keep Adam from crawling away, but a long time later I gave up and Mike gave it a try. He was still awake at 10:30 when the whole family needed to go to sleep. I went into his little bunk and sat with him a few more minutes and he finally passed out, probably from exhaustion. 

Sunday’s naps weren’t too difficult to deal with because both of them were on the go and he never has a bottle in the car or in the wrap. Last night wasn’t so bad. I think it took a little over an hour, but he wasn’t screaming and crying. He just didn’t have a way to calm himself so I sat with him until he fell asleep. We’ve been putting him down awake for a while now, so it made my heart feel good to watch his little eyes get heavy and finally hear that little sigh he does before he goes to sleep. 

Today’s naps have been infinitely better. I’ve stopped offering milk at bedtime completely. Instead I moved it to when he wakes up. We sit on the couch and I give him a straw cup to drink from and we cuddle while he wakes up. I think that will be the key. He only wants milk from a bottle at bedtime so I took away the milk completely and he seems to have accepted that. This afternoon he was asleep in 20 minutes. I’m going to work back to putting him down awake, but for now I think he needs a little bit of comfort while he gets used to being without the bottle. 

I remain terrified of a late night wake up, but I’m pretty sure that he’s gone into sleeping-through-the-night territory. If he does wake up I guess I’ll hope that he finds his pacifier or I can go in and pat his butt until he goes back to sleep. 

And the pacifier? Well, he only uses it in bed and he only uses it to get to sleep then spits it out. So for now, IT STAYS. 

One thought on “Bye Bye Baba

  1. Pingback: Attack Of The Travel Nueurosis | The Wild Williamsons

Leave a Reply

