I Want Watermelon! Except I Don’t!

Adam and I went on a playdate today with my friends Shelly and Dale, their son Joel, and a new friend I had never met and her 5 month old. It was a hot, sweaty kind of afternoon but Adam didn’t care. He and his rosy red cheeks just wanted to conquer the slide at the toddler playground, which he did. And by conquer, I mean sit at the bottom until mom’s back is turned, then climb up the wrong way. I turned around and he was there at the top, all nonchalant like ‘yeah I did that’. Then he proceeded to turn around and try to take a nosedive back down the slide. I was there for that one, so I was able to keep my burgeoning daredevil from attempting his next amazing stunt.

I’m determined to not shy away from the heat this summer. I can’t stand humidity. It makes my hair frizzy and I sweat more than a pro-wrestler at Wrestlemania about 30 seconds after I step out of the house. Ew. I grew up in the desert, where sweat evaporates like it’s supposed to and you don’t feel like you’re walking through pea soup.

But, for my son whom I love, I will brave the outdoors so that he can have some fun. Of course I’ll be chasing him the whole time with sunscreen, a hat, and a giant bottle of water, because we need to hydrate honey! Hydrate! I hope the other moms don’t think I’m weird. They probably do.

Anyway, when we got home, the much-needed hydration continued. I thought today would be the perfect day to feed Adam watermelon for the first time. This fruit is like the end-all be-all of fruit. It’s delicious, full of water, and isn’t filling so I can eat as much as I can shove in my mouth without getting full. Although if you eat half of one at your sixth grade end of year picnic, be prepared to spend most of the day going to the bathroom instead of climbing the most incredible rocket-shaped jungle gym in the world. Just saying.

When I handed Adam the first bite, he seemed to really enjoy it. I broke off a couple bite sized pieces and went to tend to tonight’s dinner, and when I came back it was mostly gone and he was happily munching away!

Image

It’s great mom, I swear. I love it look at me eating all the watermelon!

And then I take him out of the chair and I get this:

Image

 

A pile of just about all of the watermelon bits that I gave him sucked dry, hiding in his lap. And it was laying on his shorts, the ONE place on his body I hadn’t either removed clothing or added a bib. So now I’m putting pre-treater on his shorts and thinking, does watermelon stain? I guess we’ll find out.

-I had to take a 30 minute  break to cook and feed Adam-

I made a big mistake giving Adam watermelon before his ‘real’ dinner. Even though nearly none of the fruit actually got into his stomach, that apparently is all he wants to eat, ever. Except when I give it to him, then he breaks down into howls because I guess that’s not what he actually wanted. I did manage to get him to eat some beans and vegetable beef, but I had to bribe him in between bites with bits of watermelon. Oy. Toddlers, man. Tiny little dictators who have no idea what they actually want.

I think Adam is transitioning to one nap a day, but isn’t quite used to being up for longer than a few hours. It’s created a bit of a cranky baby. I’ve tried to solve this problem by, you know, put him down for naps, but all that makes is a cranky baby crying upstairs. So we’ve been spending a lot of time wrapped up the last couple of days, and I think bedtime is going to need to be sooner than it has been.

In fact, I think now would be a good time to get the screaming ball of rage at my feet some milk and start the night time routine. Who am I kidding? I just want some cuddles.

Leave a Reply

