To Adam On His First Birthday

April 6th, 2014

Dear Adam,

One year ago, after 12 1/2 hours of labor, at 2:53 pm, you came into this world and were placed in my arms. You were 6 pounds, 13 ounces of perfection. Nature has blessed me with forgetting most of the pain of labor, but I will never forget every detail of that moment. I remember that you cried just a little bit longer than I expected. I remember looking up at your dad and seeing tears of joy running down his face, and I remember that I was happier at that moment than I had ever been in my life.

The next few months were quite the adventure for us. I admit I didn’t expect the challenges we faced. I also didn’t expect the overwhelming feeling of love I felt when you started to smile at me, or the first time you laughed, or when I looked at your face after I nursed you to sleep.

When you were a few months old a light switch went off in your head and you started to take in the world around you. From that moment on you couldn’t get enough of everything. I can’t tell you how cute you were when you could barely hold your head up, but you sure did try to sit up on your own. Upright and looking at the world is the only place you want to be. You are so aware, and so smart.

You’re also a stubborn little thing. I couldn’t possible tell you where you got it from (your parents), and you’re a force to be reckoned with. When you decide you want to do something you do it. You didn’t want a pacifier until you were six months old. Now it doesn’t leave your side for very long. You will go explore the fire place, and the wires under the computer, and the entertainment center even though Mom and Dad have told you over and over that you can’t do that. You’ll go to sleep at exactly the moment you want to, thank you very much. Now that you’ve learned my “discipline” voice, you jump and whine at even the slightest hint of it. I never let you see, but when it happens I have to turn my head and suppress the smile I get. Even with your frowny face, you’re still the sweetest thing I’ve ever seen.

Now, I know I’m your Mom and you’ll always be my precious, perfect kid, but I think other people see that in you too. Whenever we’re out and about people come up to us and you always greet them with a huge smile. Once you learned how to wave you thrilled little old ladies, sales people, and anyone who came up to you by engaging fully with them. I’ve always got you close, so you’ve always felt secure enough to interact with the people around you.

You and I spend a lot of time together since I stay home with you,and we’re really good friends, but I’m pretty sure that Daddy is your best friend. Any time I mention his name you look expectantly and point at the door. You can’t wait for him to get home every day, and once he’s here there’s barely a moment when you let him out of your sight. Dad hands you to me so he can take off his shoes and you immediately reach out for him. I think you miss him when he’s gone, and you make sure to take advantage of every moment you get to spend with him. Since you weaned he puts you to bed every night. I don’t know what you guys do up there, but you must like it because it rarely takes long for you to be sound asleep.

You have eight teeth (and maybe another one coming in as I write this). You like to wave and yell at cars that drive by. You’re calmest when you’re wrapped onto Dad or me. Louie has reluctantly learned to love you even though you’re still a bit rough with his ears and whiskers. So far your favorite toy has been a red polka dot ballon you got at a birthday party. On March 28th I got you on video walking and every day you get braver about letting go of furniture.

And you’re perfect. You being here has made us a family, and I can’t imagine my life without you.

Mommy and Daddy love you more than anything in the world.

Happy Birthday our sweet baby Adam.

IMG_0016_2

IMG_1248

One thought on “To Adam On His First Birthday

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this beautiful letter! Adam is a lucky boy to have such wonderful, loving parents like you.
    Happy birthday, Adam!

Leave a Reply

