Washing Machines, Lip-ties, And Other Reasons I’ll Never Be A Millionaire

The washing machine broke today. It was inevitable really, but it still sucks. After we moved into our house last year it started to sound a bit funky during the spin cycle. That little bit of noise turned into what can only be described as a jet engine taking off in our laundry room and making everyone in the house talk like they were on a flightline. 

WHAAT?!?! I COULDN’T HEAR WHAT YOU WERE SAYING EVEN THOUGH YOU’RE TWO FEET AWAY!

I SAID DON’T WAKE UP THE BABY!!

OH OKAY YEAH WE SHOULD BE QUIET SO WE DON’T WAKE UP THE BABY! (Cue baby crying because his parents were screaming)

Right now Adam’s diapers, which were in the middle of being cleaned when the washer went kaput, are soaking in the bath tub so I can get the last of the soap out before I dry them. Mike is doing washing machine recon so we can go make a decision on a new one tomorrow. We will most definitely not be getting the uber expensive front loader that we currently have. Give this girl a good old fashioned, cheap top loader! It cleans cloth diapers better anyway and it’ll probably last until Adam goes to college. 

On a normal day I might be able to deal with the washing machine breaking pretty well, but a couple of things are bringing the stress factor to maximum level. Adam’s first birthday is in a week and two days (!!!) so I’ve been busy planning an extensive birthday/spring cleaning of the house. Plus I have to actually, you know, throw a party! I invited lots of people in hopes that some of them would come, and just about everybody said they could make it! While this makes me feel amazing, it’s also like wait! oh my gosh! I have 25 people coming to my house please don’t rain!!

I really can’t wait for that day to come. My sweet little peanut is going to be one. If the last couple of days are any indication, he’ll be running in the backyard with the rest of the kids and I’ll be the happiest mom you’ve ever seen in your life. 

Four days after Adam’s birthday, we have an appointment with a dentist in Charlotte. I’ve talked about the troubles Adam and I had in the past with breastfeeding. While we did manage to do it for eight months, it was a hard road. Adam had gas and colic issues, he never stayed latched for more than a few minutes, and he rarely drained me completely. This means that he probably wasn’t getting all of the nutrition he needed from me. I blamed my letdown for the problems, and while that probably added to the situation, I stumbled on a different reason for our troubles. Enter: the lip-tie.

A couple months ago I was browsing my local natural parenting forum on Facebook (which is full of amazing people that I love and never want to let go of). One of the mothers posted a picture of her child’s top lip and asked if it was a lip-tie. I had no idea what that was, but it turns out a lip-tie or tongue-tie happens when there is too much tissue connecting it to the mouth. Observe:

Image

The mothers agreed unanimously that her child did have a lip-tie and they should get it looked at. I didn’t think much of it until a couple of days later when Adam was biting down on a toy and lifted his top lip. I almost fell over. It looked exactly like the picture I had seen on the forum! I have a picture of Adam’s, but it’s blurry and he’s crying so I don’t like to look at it. Just picture the stock photo above, but the skin comes down further to between his top teeth. A got a quick second opinion with those beautiful mothers on the forum who agreed that Adam had the same thing, and I was off to research land. 

I was referred to the dentist in Charlotte and found a list of problems that might indicate your child has the lip-tie: 

Unable to breastfeed
No effective latch-on
Unable to sustain a latch
Unable to hold pacifier
Slides off nipple
Prolonged feeding times
Poor weight gain or failure to thrive
Unsatisfied hunger after feeding
Gumming or chewing on nipple
Falling asleep on the breast too soon
Gas, Colic and /or reflux, including vomiting
Dental decay

Check, check, double check, etc. 

Even though we’re not breastfeeding anymore, I’m worried about dental decay and speech issues down the line. It breaks my heart that we’re going to be lasering off a piece of skin from Adam’s mouth, but I know the five minutes of awfulness will make a big difference in eating, speaking, and dental health. 

It also turns out I probably passed this along to my little one. Signs in adults include chronic headaches, a high palate, needing a palate expander, not enough room in your mouth for all of your teeth and many more symptoms that I experienced. Sorry baby. 

So the next couple of weeks will feature some highs and some lows. I’ve been wrapping Adam on my body a lot more this week. I think my stress might be rubbing off on him and he’s been extra fussy. At the very least, him laying his head on my shoulder calms me down a bit and I can work on getting things done instead of stress-procrastinating like I usually do.  Hopefully everything will go as planned, and even though our wallet is going to take a hit, I’m feeling confident that it will all be worth it in the end. I’ll update on his party and his procedure, and maybe the new washing machine if I’m feeling wild! Until then, I’m going to go do some yoga and breathe all the stress out while my sweet almost-one-year-old naps. 

Leave a Reply

