Wait! Did That Just Happen?

Seriously did this just happen? Adam went to bed last night at 7:30. Then he woke up at 6:30. AM. As in he slept the WHOLE TIME!!! Mike and I went to bed early expecting that we’d wake up at least once during the night, and were absolutely shocked when we woke up with the sun. Our agreement was that I’d get up with him during the night and Mike would wake up early with him while I slept in. I wanted to kick him out of bed and say something like “Haha sucker! He slept through my shift and I’m sleeping in anyway!” Instead I got out of bed in solidarity. We made cinnamon rolls and lit a fire and had a beautiful morning as a family. It was pretty perfect.

After almost eleven months of waking up during the night to feed Adam, I’m hesitant to call this the turning point. But I’ve decided to be optimistic about it. Maybe last night was the first of many where the whole family will get some sleep. Maybe tonight he’ll make up for lost time and be up every hour. Who knows? Either way it’ll be fine. Even if he doesn’t sleep all night tonight I at least know that it’s possible. And that it will happen again. I’ll admit that I’ve been despairing about it for a few months now. Sleep deprivation will do that to you.

I do know one thing though: the “sleep begets sleep” theory that I’ve read so many times is crap. At least in regards to Adam. We’ve been diligently making sure he gets plenty of sleep during the day and putting him to bed four hours after his last nap and blah blah blah. Last night he was awake for six hours before he went to bed. Apparently our sweet baby needs to be incredibly tired in order to sleep deeply enough that he doesn’t want to eat all night.

Adam just went down for his first nap of the day. I think I’ll sit down, watch some Sunday Morning, and bask in the glow of a full night’s sleep. Or maybe I’ll take a nap. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

