Family

The moment I put Adam in my mom’s arms, I knew the distance between him and his Nana hadn’t phased that baby one bit. He planted not one, not two, but three kisses on her. Then he hung out in her arms and just snuggled.

IMG_0614

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When Morgan asked if she could wear him in my woven wrap, he promptly fell asleep on her. He was completely calm and content.

.IMG_0309

That’s really how this week with my mom and baby sister has felt: calm and content.

We didn’t DO much of anything really. Just spent time in each other’s company, and it’s was wonderful.

We went shopping at the farmer’s market.

IMG_0274

We played with Adam.

IMG_0636

 

 

 

 

 

 

My 15 year old sister taught me a new hair-curling-with-a-straightener technique (I’ve been lost in the land of boys).

IMG_0321

We cooked Thanksgiving dinner.

IMG_0374

I did not want to stick my hand inside a dead animal’s behind and search around for its neck, but I did it for the team.

IMG_0382

Mike’s parents came by and it was the first time they’d been in the same room together in 10 years.

IMG_0387

Of course the actual cooking of the bird didn’t go QUITE as planned. It looked great out of the oven, not so much on the inside. But no worries. We cut the bird up and put it back in the oven. So there was edible, non-poisonous food to be eaten. Yay!

For their last night here we really got the party started by playing Heads Up and Uno. I know right? PAAARTAYYY! Even Louie got in on the action.

IMG_0638

 

 

 

 

 

 

And then I took them to the airport. Mom cried. I cried. They loved on Adam and I one more time.

And then they left.

IMG_0627

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I miss them more now that I’ve seen them than before they came. I think it’s like giving someone a bite of dessert, then sending that dessert to California for an unspecified amount of time. I’m so happy to have seen them, and that Adam loves them as much as I do. Being away from family is hard when you’re raising a kid, but these small, sweet visits lift me up a lot. Thanks for coming Mom and Morgan. I love you and it was amazing to see you both!

IMG_0402

IMG_0623

 

One thought on “Family

  1. What a beautiful and wonderful memory you shared with us. I’m so happy that everyone enjoyed themselves in what probably went by as to fast of a visit!!!! Love you all lots

Leave a Reply

