Happy Halloween!!

Exactly one year ago today I had my last bout with morning sickness. How do I remember this with such accuracy you ask? Because it happened while I was at lunch. With everyone I work with including my boss. One minute we’re sitting there waiting for food and the next I’m sprinting to the bathroom to hack some dry heaves because I’d broken rule number one with my morning sickness: never get hungry! 

I can’t believe that was an entire year ago. It’s gone by faster than any year I can remember I think. Adam is almost seven months old now, is trying his best to crawl after stuff (he just needs his arms to catch up), and has amazing vampire teeth that came in just in time for the holiday! 

Image

It’s even cuter if you pretend he’s laughing a Dracula laugh. Ah-ah-ahhh!!

I know I should be really excited that this is baby’s first Halloween, but we weren’t going to dress Adam up this year because:

1: We’re not going anywhere

2: He’ll be asleep before any trick-or-treaters come to our house (I think. What time do trick-or-treaters go out?). 

3: He’s six months old and can’t go trick-or-treating and won’t remember if his evil holiday party-pooping parents didn’t dress him up for his first Halloween. 

Well not going anywhere got turned on its head when I got invited to go somewhere! To a pumpkin patch with a play group! My delight at going somewhere on Halloween turned to dread when I realized that I’d have to dress him as something and how am I going to find something cute on the actual day eek!?! 

Turns out I can and did find something at the last minute. Do you know why? Because Adam is hella cute, is still a tiny baby and anything that was left that also fit him was going to look awesome. 

And it totally did!

Image

I ended up choosing this particular outfit because after the holiday is over it will double as pajamas (yeah saving money!!). 

The actual trip to the pumpkin patch wasn’t fabulous, but it wasn’t horrible either. Adam was awake the whole hour long trip leading up to getting there and closed his eyes, and I kid you not, when I pulled into the PARKING LOT!! So he was tired, crabby, and seeing something new for the first time. So naturally when I put him down next to a pumpkin he lost. His. Damn. Mind. 

He cried like scared cries, which of course made me feel like worst mommy ever. I don’t know if it was just being tired, or if he didn’t like the feeling of the grass, but either way he wasn’t happy. I was determined to get some good pictures though so I laid down on the ground and put him on my belly. See kid, you’re not touching the ground! Smile please! 

Image 

Thanks!

Notice the angry-kid splotches on his forehead. After he calmed down he was all good and distracted by the giant orange thing next to us. 

Image 

Hmmm I wonder if I can eat that??

After sleep-depriving the little bit at the pumpkin patch, he slept the whole way home, ate when got here, then went to sleep for two more hours! Oh yeah! 

So maybe he’ll be awake tonight to see some trick-or-treaters. Maybe not. Well see I guess, but I’m glad that I ended up getting him a costume after all. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

