Sleep Wars

So Adam turns 6 months in a week (wait did I just type that? Sheesh.), and he has yet to sleep through the night. That means, for almost six months now the most sleep I’ve had in one stretch is 7 hours. Not that I’m complaining. I’m happy to get up in the middle of the night when Adam needs to eat or be changed. However. He can roll over really well now. He rolls over while he’s asleep, wakes up, and can’t roll back to the correct side to fall asleep again. Occasionally he’ll also wake up fully and won’t go back to sleep for anything. Case in point: a couple nights ago he woke up at 10:30 and did not go back to sleep until 1:30. 

3 hours he was awake. 3 hours of crying, rocking, feeding, soothing, white noise, etc, etc. And nothing worked. That kid was going to go to sleep when he was good and ready and none of our futile attempts to quiet him were going to work. 

I think I might be partly to blame for this. This week I started putting him down in the crib and soothing him to sleep that way. ‘He needs to learn to sleep on his own’ I told myself.  Silly me trying to make my baby do something he doesn’t want to do. While he will eventually fall asleep, he won’t stay asleep. Which is kind of a big deal when it’s the middle of the night and your kid is squawking at the top of his lungs.  

I think I would classify Adam as a “high needs” baby. This kid wants what he wants right now and the wailing will not quit until he gets it. And you know what? I’m cool with that. I don’t want to change him to make my life convenient, or push something on him that he’s not ready for. I think I need to just stop fighting it. Cry-it-out is never going to work with getting him to sleep so after a couple of days of trying it I’m giving up. I’ll let him fall asleep on me for a while longer because he’s happier and sleeps longer that way. 

This afternoon I had him on my lap making funny faces. He out of nowhere laid his head on my shoulder and went to sleep. No fussing, no crying, no white noise needed. I think that was his way of saying thank you. 

He’ll get to sleep on his own one day. I’m going to work hard not to rush it. And I think my baby will be happier for it.

On an unrelated note, I finally got a picture of one of his teeth. Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

