Cloth Versus Disposables

I LOVE my cloth diapers. We went all in and bought some of the fancier Bumgenius all-in-one style so that we should never have to buy diapers again. The style we bought go on just like a normal diaper so they’re super easy to deal with when we go out in public. Just snap and go. They’ll also grow with Adam and they are crazy cute! Check out some of these designs:

The Irwin. I’m assuming it’s named after Steve Irwin because of the animal print.

Image

The Albert. This one is self-explanitory. 

Image

Other than prints, some of the colors are just too cute!

Image

I know this is a lot of excitement over something that catches my kid’s waste. I can’t explain how this happened to me, or why I’m more excited to buy stuff for him than for me.

Anyway. The only thing I’m afraid of with cloth is diapering at night. We still use disposables because Adam wakes up to eat a lot and I’m afraid of leaking. The biggest flaw in the disposable diaper’s design became very clear to me this morning- the back. When he wakes up in the morning I change, then feed. Change, then feed! It’s so simple and goes so wrong when I don’t do it in that order. I didn’t get it off this morning in time for his, well, you know, business. It was poo-splosion poopapalooza! Out of the back, the side, the legs, everywhere! Yeah. Ew. 

Since we’ve diapered with the Bumgenius I have never once had this problem. I think this is the reason why:

Image

Elastic on the back to keep it in place!! Containment is key! Why doesn’t every single brand of disposable diaper do this? They know babies don’t have normal bowels and they know this is one of the biggest problems, so why don’t they fix it? I guess we’ll never know…

I’m getting braver and working on combinations of inserts so that I can just cloth diaper 24/7. Until then I’m definitely going to have to change him before I feed him in the morning to avoid the unholy mess I dealt with today. This face makes up for it though. 

Image                           

 

Even if I do have to hose him off occasionally. 

 

Leave a Reply

